Good Morning Christmas

When I was a kid, it seemed like an injustice to humanity for my dad to work on Christmas Eve. Now, as an adult who works on Christmas Eve, I kind of like it. Waking up early when it is still dark, when the Christmas lights are still on, is a little bit magical. This morning, like other holiday mornings, is still and slow. I treated myself to a cup of coffee on the way to work. I took some time to listen to music while I finished writing out cards for my employees.

As the morning has worn on, I feel more tired than I should for a Tuesday (but it’s somewhat like a Friday, so maybe that’s ok). The anticipation of two days off, far too many sweets, and sleeping in, is doing a lot to keep me motivated though -and that’s a little bit magical too.
And someone is at the piano in the dining hall playing “Grandma Got Run over by a Reindeer.” And singing along! I have seven drivers who are also working Christmas Eve -and not complaining about it. I have maybe two hours left, if I’m lucky, before I can get out of the office for the day. I have a cup of coffee on my desk still.
I’m finding more wonder in today than I normally do.
I’m pretty ok with that.
Leave a Reply

